1952 Society: Writing the Library’s Next Chapter

The Johnson County Library story began in 1952 when several PTA moms focused their passion for education and rallied to establish the Johnson County Library.  The first libraries were in the basements of businesses and homes until funding could be established.  Today we welcome more than 2.4 million visitors and circulate 7 million items annually. 

We are proud of our beginnings and ask you to partner with us to insure future generations have access to quality library services and programs. The 1952 Society recognizes donors who have committed to make a planned gift to the Johnson County Library.  These gifts demonstrate a unique and enduring commitment to the Library’s mission and provide benefits and security for generations yet to come.

For more information about “writing the Library’s next chapter”, please contact Stephanie Stollsteimer, [email protected].

If you are considering making a planned gift, these two documents will help you express your intentions
1952 Deferred Gift commitment form
Sample bequest language

See photos from our Inaugural Celebration of the 1952 Society, held April 27, 2019.

Your investment in Johnson County Library generates a 300% return.

During this difficult time in our community, the Johnson County Library Foundation is as committed as ever to supporting our partners at Johnson County Library. You can follow progress and get updates on the Library’s COVID-19 responses here.